## THE RIDGWAY MEMORIAL COMPLETED

## BY HARRY C. OBERHOLSER

Readers of the WILSON BULLETIN will be pleased to learn that the fund to maintain Bird Haven as a memorial to Mr. Robert Ridgway, the ornithologist, has at last been provided. Bird Haven, it will be recalled, is a tract of some eighteen acres, mostly second growth forest, situated near Olney, Illinois. It had been developed by Mr. Ridgway over a period of years, and its association with him and the possibilities there for the preservation of birds and plants made it an admirable kind of memorial to the memory of this great naturalist. On the tract there are more than fifty species of native trees in addition to many shrubs and flowers. It was offered by Mr. Ridgway as a permanent sanetuary if a sufficient fund could be raised for its maintenance.

At the meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union in New York in 1925, the project of a memorial to Mr. Ridgway was introduced, and a committee authorized for the purpose of raising the fund to preserve Bird Haven for this purpose. The Wilson Ornithological Club and the Cooper Ornithological Club were each invited later to appoint a representative to act with the representative from the Ameriean Ornithologists' Union as a national committee for the purpose of raising the memorial fund. By the appointment of Dr. Harry C. Oberholser, of Washington, D. C., for the American Ornithologists Union, Mr. Percival B. Coffin, of Chicago, for the Wilson Ornithologieal Club, and Mr. Harry Harris, of Eagle Roek. California, for the Cooper Ornithologieal Club, this committee was organized. Subsequently, Mrs. Gertrude Cox, of Chicago, was added as a special representative for Illinois. The further organization for the purpose of the eampaign for raising the fund consisted of committees in practieally all of the States of the Union and in Canada. The Ridgway Bird Haven Association was formed and incorporated under the laws of Illinois in 1927 for the purpose of administering the fund and earing for Bird Haven when provision should be made for its maintenanee.

Through efforts of these committees approximately \$27,000 was raised, and in the summer of 1929 Mrs. Frances K. Hutchinson, of Chieago, offered to assume the responsibility of increasing the fund to \$50,000 and thus provide for the future of Bird Haven. Mrs. Hutchinson also purchased and added to Bird Haven the adjoining

farm of about 100 acres, which will greatly improve the area as a sanctuary.

A new organization called the Bird Haven Memorial Association was incorporated in 1929 to take the place of the original Ridgway Bird Haven Association, and this new organization will assume responsibility for the property and all the funds raised for its maintenance.

Mention should here be made of all those who have aided in the establishment of the Ridgway Memorial. We regret that it is not possible here to give the names of all of these, but the chairman of the national committee wishes to express his sincere appreciation of all this cordial coöperation, without which the success of the movement would have been impossible. A list of the special committees and of the chairmen of the state committees is given below:

## GENERAL COMMITTEES AND STATE CHAIRMEN OF THE RIDGWAY MEMORIAL

NATIONAL COMMITTEE. Dr. Harry C. Oberholser, Chairman; Mr. Harry Harris, Mr. Percival Brooks Coffin, Mrs. Gertrude Cox.

ILLINOIS SPECIAL COMMITTEE. Mr. Percival Brooks Coffin, Chairman; Mrs. Gertrude Cox, Mr. O. M. Schantz, Mrs. A. B. Crosby.

NEW ENGLAND SPECIAL COMMITTEE. Mr. Charles F. Batchelder, Chairman; Mr. Laurence B. Fletcher, Mr. Charles B. Floyd, Mr. Lovell Thompson.

Laurence B. Fletcher, Mr. Charles B. Floyd, Mr. Lovell Thompson.
ALABAMA, Prof. J. M. Robinson. ARIZONA, Dr. W. P. Taylor. ARKANSAS, Mrs.
W. T. Kelton. CALIFORNIA, Mr. Harry Harris. CANADA, Prof. William Rowan.
COLORADO, Mr. E. R. Warren. CONNECTICUT, Mrs. Lucy Stock Chapin. DISTRICT
OF COLUMBIA, Dr. A. K. Fisher. FLORIDA, Mr. R. J. Longstreet. GEORGIA, Mr.
Thomas D. Burleigh. IDAHO, Mrs, S. E. Hyde. ILLINOIS, Mr. Percival B. Coffin.
INDIANA, Mr. S. E. Perkins, III. IOWA, Mrs F. May Tuttle. KANSAS, Mr. Dix
Teachenor. KENTUCKY, Dr. L. O. Pindar, MAINE, Dr. Alfred O. Gross. MARY-LAND, Mr. Talbott Denmead. MASSACHUSETTS, Mr. Charles F. Batchelder, MICHI-GAN, Mr. M. J. Magee. MINNESOTA, Dr. T. S. Roberts. MISSISSIPPI, Miss Fannye
A. Cook. MISSOURI (eastern), Dr. Herman von Schrenk. MISSOURI (western),
Mr. Dix Teachenor. MONTANA, Dr. M. J. Elrod. NEBRASKA, Dr. Robert H. Wolcott. New HAMPSHIRE. Mr. George S. Foster, New JERSEY, Mr. J. Fletcher
Street. New MEXICO, Mr. J. S. Ligon, New YORK, Dr. Frank M., Chapman, NORTH CAROLINA, Dr. Z. P. Metcalf. NORTH DAKOTA, Prof. O. A. Stevens. OHIO,
Dr. Lynds Jones. OKLAHOMA, Mrs. Margaret M. Nice. OREGON, Mr. Stanley G. Jewett, PENNSYLVANIA (eastern), Mr. J. Fletcher Street. PENNSYLVANIA (western), Mr. Bayard H. Christy. RHODE ISLAND, Mr. William H. Over, TENNESSEE, Prof. George R. Mayfield. TEXAS, Dr. A. R. Shearer. UTAH, Mr. Claude T. Barnes. VERMONT, Mr. Wendell P. Smith. VIRGINIA, Prof. Thomas Smyth.
WASHINGTON, Mr. Harry Harris. WEST VIRGINIA, Mr. A. B. Brooks, WISCONSIN. Dr. Warner Taylor, Dr. Leon J. Cole.
U. S. BIOLOGICAL SURVEY,

U. S. BIOLOGICAL SURVEY,

WASHINGTON, D. C.